Bankies crash out of Sectional League Cup with defeat to Petershill


Clydebank crashed out of the Sectional League Cup with a 3-1 loss to Petershill in the quarter final on Monday.

Kieran McAnespie made six changes to the side that lost to Auchinleck on Saturday with Scott Morrison, Chris Black and Ross Alexander among those to be recalled to the starting lineup.

It wasn’t the start Bankies were looking for as Petershill took the lead inside seven minutes. Alex Cassells was afforded too much space and his effort looped over Morrison to open the scoring.

Clydebank could’ve got themselves level soon after when McClair burst down the wing but Steven Higgins fired the cut back wide.

Midway through the half, Bankies had strong claims for a penalty when the ball appeared to strike a Petershill hand inside the area but referee Chris Gentles waved away the protests.

Petershill could’ve doubled their lead when Scott Cameron evaded Alan Vezza too easily before dragging his shot past the post with Morrison beaten.

But Peasy did manage to add a second before the break when Cameron made amends for his earlier miss, this time making no mistake as he headed in from close range.

Bankies made a double switch at the break as Hepburn and McClair were replaced by Sean Higgins and Nicky Little in a change that saw Bankies change to a 4-4-2 formation.

But it was to no avail as Cameron grabbed his second and Petershill’s third less than men minutes into the second period. His shot from the right again looped Morrison and the hosts cruised to a commanding lead.

Little then managed to pull a goal back for the Bankies ten minutes after the restart. Steven Higgins smacked the woodwork, with Little being alert to bury the rebound.

And former Bankies Ryan Deas and Chris Wilson both tested Morrison with free kicks in the closing stages as Bankies fell to a second successive defeat.